In the Mix

HARA names lifetime achievement winners

March 16th, 2011

Star-Advertiser File / 2001

Kalapana takes a bow on stage at the Sheraton Waikiki in 2001 after playing their first show on Oahu since 1998. The performance was also the first on Oahu since Mackey Feary's death in 1999.

The Hawaii Academy of Recording Arts announced Wednesday the recipients for its 2011 Na Hoku Hanohano Lifetime Achievement Awards, the "highest award for excellence in (Hawaii's) recording industry."

This years awardees:

» Kalapana

» Jaqueline “Skylark” Rosetti

» Napua Stevens Poire

» Bill Tapia

» Fred and Ernest Tavares

The Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented on Saturday, May 28 at the Hawaii Convention Center, a day before the 34th annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards are scheduled to take place at the same location. While the Lifetime Achievement Awards dinner will not be televised, the main awards will be broadcast live on KFVE.

Tickets for the Lifetime Achievement Awards dinner are available now from HARA; call Bryson at 593-9424 for more details, or visit


Jason Genegabus is former HILife Editor at the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and has covered the local nightlife, music, bar and entertainment scenes since 2001. Born in Honolulu and raised in Kailua, he now calls Kaimuki home. Contact him via email at

Posted in Events, Music | Comments Off on HARA names lifetime achievement winners

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments